Spring til indhold

Parliament elections (elections to the Folketinget)

Members of the Danish Parliament, Folketinget, are elected for a term of four years. However, the Prime Minister (statsminister) may at any time call a new election to the Danish Parliament.

The next election for the Danish Parliament, Folketinget will take place by June 17, 2019 at the latest.

179 members of the Danish Parliament are elected, two of whom come from the Faroe Islands and two from Greenland.

Who can vote?

Any person who has attained the age of 18 years, is a national of Denmark and resident in the Kingdom is eligible to vote in a general election.

People under guardianship who have been deprived of legal capacity, however, are ineligible to vote.

Who can stand for election to Parliament?

If you are eligible to vote, you are normally also eligible to stand for election to the Danish Parliament unless you have been convicted of an offence which in the public opinion makes you unworthy of being a member of local and regional councils. The Danish Parliament decides on its members’ eligibility to stand for election.


Additional information on elections

Elections and referenda

Elections and referenda in Denmark are:

  • Local and regional elections
  • Parliament Elections (elections to the "Folketinget")
  • Elections to the European Parliament
  • Referenda 

Find information in English about elections at the website of the Ministry for Social Affairs and the Interior:

The Parliamentary Electoral System in Denmark  (The Ministry for Economic Affairs and the Interior)


The Ministry for Social Affairs and the Interior is responsible for performing tasks in connection with general elections, referenda, elections to local and regional councils as well as elections of Danish members to the European Parliament.

The ministry also manages the political party subsidy scheme of the central government and acts as secretariat to the Election Board and the Eligibility Board.

The Parliamentary Electoral System in Denmark (The Ministry for Economic Affairs and the Interior)